A Campaign for Meals on Wheels of Metro Tulsa

The Vision

A single goal has guided Meals on Wheels of Metro Tulsa, Inc. (MOWMT) since the first known Tulsa delivery by a small group of parishioners at First Presbyterian Church in May of 1970. That goal is to support our senior neighbors to extend their independence and health as they age. What started as a compassionate idea has grown into one of the largest and most influential social movements in northeast Oklahoma. MOWMT is currently serving thousands of seniors and others in virtually every community in the Tulsa Metropolitan Area.


We envision a center where our staff, volunteers, and community members can expand their work to help ensure no person in our community suffers from hunger or isolation and depression due to neglect.


The Need

Meals on Wheels of Metro Tulsa has served the Tulsa Metroplex for 50 years. We have been working in a 9,000 square foot facility near 31st and Garnett for the last 38 years. Because of limitations created by the facility’s size, we have to cap the number of unique clients served every year artificially.


In the first half of 2020, during the COVID-19 crisis, MOWMT responded immediately to our community’s needs. Shifting our 50-year delivery model to reduce illness spread, we delivered 436,405 additional meals to seniors and others isolated during the Safer-At-Home order.


Our volunteer corps expanded to more than 2,000 for the first time in its history. We developed and fully staffed our Care Navigation program. With a renewed sense of obligation to care for those who once cared for us, we embarked upon an aggressive reframe of the mission. The mandate? We need to expand the type of services offered to clients: provide additional meals to those at high risk, and build infrastructure to support our community’s growing needs.


The Delivering Hope Campaign will support the organization’s increasing infrastructure requirements, capital needs, endowment, and strategic reserve goals.

Screen Shot 2020-06-11 at 12.39.52
Meals on Wheels of Metro Tulsa has delivered nearly 10 million meals to Tulsa and surrounding communities for the past 50 years.
Screen Shot 2020-06-30 at 8.55.46 AM.png


The Plan

Meals on Wheels of Metro Tulsa has purchased three acres of land. Two acres will be used to build the new center and one acre will be held in reserve for future development.


The 23,250 square foot facility will allow MOWMT to deploy additional staff to handle the current demand for much-needed services. The new building will include administrative offices, a volunteer training and deployment center, a collaboration space, a large state-of-the-art commercial kitchen with specialized cooling solutions, an expanded dry dock storage area, and our newest distribution site. The outdoors will be professionally landscaped with plenty of parking for volunteers.


The design and décor will aid the goal of creating a wholesome place to work and volunteer, while supporting seniors to live independently with dignity in their own homes.

For more information, please contact

Calvin A. Moore, President & CEO of Meals on Wheels of Metro Tulsa,

at  918-921-3579 or

Board of Directors

Becky Robins, Chair

Rocky Bright, Chair Elect

Karen Bouteller, Secretary

Jim Campos, Treasurer

Becky Robins, Chair

Rocky Bright, Chair Elect

Karen Bouteller, Secretary

Jim Campos, Treasurer

Marya Bowman

Amy Calvert

Haley Buzzard-Hamilton

Tyson Goetz

Carla Gunn

Cara Hair

Matt Horeled

Mark Hurley

Shelby Karamoko

Matthew Levitt

Anthony Stewart

Joel Thompson

Michael Tillman

Annie Tomecek

Francisco Treviño

Timothy Williams


Advisory Council

Sarah E. Hansel, Chair

Carl Bracy

Bryan Close

Debbie Cowan

Dr. Darryl DeBorde

Jan and Chip Eames

Rony Gadiwalla

Mendi Head

Jared Jordan

David Joseph

Danilo Juvane

Miranda Kaiser

Commissioner Karen Keith

Phil Lakin, Jr.

Lucky Lamons

Glenda Love

Senator Kevin Matthews

Senator Judy Eason McIntyre

Sanjay Meshri

Mike Neal

Joan and Jerry Parkhurst

Peggy Simmons

Shannon Smith

Stuart C. Sullivan 

Chief David Taylor

Andrew Ziola

Campaign Cabinet Co-Chairs

Cara Hair

Betsy Jackson


Chief Executive Officer  

Calvin A. Moore